, , ,

After all the fuss around the Oscars this year, I would like to present to you my opinion about the possible winners in most of the categories…

Oscars 2014

You can see my guesses in bold.

Best Picture
• American Hustle
• Captain Phillips
• Dallas Buyers Club
• Gravity
• Her
• Nebraska
• Philomena
12 Years a Slave
• The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Actor in a Leading Role
• Christian Bale (American Hustle)
• Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
• Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street)
• Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Actress in a Leading Role
• Amy Adams (American Hustle)
Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
• Sandra Bullock (Gravity)
• Judi Dench (Philomena)
• Meryl Streep (August: Osage County)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
• Bradley Cooper (American Hustle)
• Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)
• Jonah Hill (The Wolf of Wall Street)
• Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
• Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)
• Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)
Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)
• Julia Roberts (August: Osage County)
• June Squibb (Nebraska)

Best Animated Feature
• The Croods (Chris Sanders, Kirk DeMicco, Kristine Belson)
• Despicable Me 2 (Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin, Chris Meledandri)
• Ernest & Celestine (Benjamin Renner, Didier Brunner)
• Frozen (Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee, Peter Del Vecho)
The Wind Rises (Hayao Miyazaki, Toshio Suzuki)

Best Cinematography
• The Grandmaster (Philippe Le Sourd)
Gravity (Emmanuel Lubezki)
• Inside Llewyn Davis (Bruno Delbonnel)
• Nebraska (Phedon Papamichael)
• Prisoners (Roger A. Deakins)

Best Costume Design
American Hustle (Michael Wilkinson)
• The Grandmaster (William Chang Suk Ping)
• The Great Gatsby (Catherine Martin)
• The Invisible Woman (Michael O’Connor)
• 12 Years a Slave (Patricia Norris)

Best Directing
• American Hustle (David O. Russell)
Gravity (Alfonso Cuarón)
• Nebraska (Alexander Payne)
• 12 Years a Slave (Steve McQueen)
• The Wolf of Wall Street (Martin Scorsese)

Best Documentary Feature
The Act of Killing (Joshua Oppenheimer, Signe Byrge Sørensen)
• Cutie and the Boxer (Zachary Heinzerling, Lydia Dean Pilcher)
• Dirty Wars (Richard Rowley, Jeremy Scahill)
• The Square (Jehane Noujaim, Karim Amer)
• 20 Feet from Stardom (Nominees to be determined)

Best Film Editing
• American Hustle (Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers, Alan Baumgarten)
• Captain Phillips (Christopher Rouse)
• Dallas Buyers Club (John Mac McMurphy, Martin Pensa)
Gravity (Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger)
• 12 Years a Slave (Joe Walker)

Best Foreign Language Film
• The Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium)
• The Great Beauty (Italy)
The Hunt (Denmark)
• The Missing Picture (Cambodia)
• Omar (Palestine)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
• Dallas Buyers Club (Adruitha Lee, Robin Mathews)
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa (Stephen Prouty)
• The Lone Ranger (Joel Harlow, Gloria Pasqua-Casny)

Best Original Score
• The Book Thief (John Williams)
Gravity (Steven Price)
• Her (William Butler, Owen Pallett)
• Philomena (Alexandre Desplat)
• Saving Mr. Banks (Thomas Newman)

Best Original Song
• Happy (Despicable Me 2)
• Let It Go (Frozen)
• The Moon Song (Her)
Ordinary Love (Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom)

Best Production Design
American Hustle (Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler)
• Gravity (Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin, Joanne Woollard)
• The Great Gatsby (Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn)
• Her (K.K. Barrett, Gene Serdena)
• 12 Years a Slave (Adam Stockhausen, Alice Baker)

Best Sound Editing
• All Is Lost (Steve Boeddeker, Richard Hymns)
• Captain Phillips (Oliver Tarney)
Gravity (Glenn Freemantle)
• The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Brent Burge, Chris Ward)
• Lone Survivor (Wylie Stateman)

Best Sound Mixing
• Captain Phillips (Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro)
• Gravity (Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, Chris Munro)
• The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick, Tony Johnson)
Inside Llewyn Davis (Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff, Peter F. Kurland)
• Lone Survivor (Andy Koyama, Beau Borders, David Brownlow)

Best Visual Effects
Gravity (Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, Neil Corbould)
• The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, Eric Reynolds)
• Iron Man 3 (Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash, Dan Sudick)
• The Lone Ranger (Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams, John Frazier)
• Star Trek Into Darkness (Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann, Burt Dalton)

Best Adapted Screenplay
• Before Midnight (Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke)
• Captain Phillips (Billy Ray)
• Philomena (Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope)
12 Years a Slave (John Ridley)
• The Wolf of Wall Street (Terence Winter)

Best Original Screenplay
• American Hustle (Eric Warren Singer, David O. Russell)
• Blue Jasmine (Woody Allen)
• Dallas Buyers Club (Craig Borten, Melisa Wallack)
Her (Spike Jonze)
• Nebraska (Bob Nelson)


I hope that we can check the success of my predictions together after the ceremony in the comments below 🙂